August 18, 2004

  • tnhthnynhhnngbbhbrgfrfrg rbg rgb rbrbgtrbtgrbrrbrbrbrbrtgbrbtrbrbbtgrbgrb

August 13, 2004

  •  


    dear person(s) who have problems with metric oration,

    stop forcing words that are not
    iambic into iambs.
    cease accentuations on the last
    syllable before a punctuation
    mark--it doesn't
    always work that way.


    sincerely,


    annoyed at your faultiness

August 12, 2004

  •  


    EDIT!!!
    TOMORROW : HAPPY BIRTHDAY PHILIP!!!!
    (hehe, i though today was friday already...): 

    this pink issssooo hot!

    i think that tutoring for me is unofficially ovah!  finito!  done!  hazel didn't show up on tuesday and i didn't feel like calling him.  ran into kenny though and asked him to tell andre to call me.  decided to just come back to vallejo on wednesday even though i was supposed to go over his paper with him before he turned it in because he didn't even call to say why he was late or apologize for not showing up.  i believe his paper is due in 1 hour and 7 minutes.   but whatever.  my last day as a student employee at usf is next friday.  i'm kinda glad that tutoring is over.  the whole "feeling good" of helping and seeing productive work was nice and all, but since i am just their tutor, sometimes they don't take me as seriously as they should.

    but i will miss RA-ing!  i've gotten quite comfy in the english department.  but i guess i get to do that whole "new experiences" thing, right?  i do have one more job to do.  one of the profs i work for is paying me to scan her wedding pics and make a website so she can share them with her family/friends (she got married august 15 last year).  i'm excited about that, since i haven't been motivated to do any web work since i got lazy with my site and gave up because i ended up not liking the scheme i started with.


     

August 10, 2004

  • when i was in ninth grade i became a solano county peer counselor.  two terms that have stuck
    with me from this training and certification:

    1) There's an Elephant in the Living Room

    2) Enabler

    The 1st term refers to the problems in
    dysfunctional relationships. 
    Having an elephant in your fricken living room is not a thing hard to miss.  It's a fricken ELEPHANT!  Everyone sees it.  It's a pretty big problem.  Except the people with the problem choose to squeeze around it, ignore, pretend it's not there.  Why not just take the elephant
    out of the living room?!  because sometimes, people are so used
    to the elephant being there, that maybe their scared of what will happen if it's gone--maybe something worse might take it's place?  But c'mon!  Can't you just imagine how big elephant poop is??

    An enabler is someone who allows
    another to continue with destructive/wrong/stupid behavior.  Typically this is someone who is close to the destructive/wrong/stupid person, aka friend, relative, etc.  These are a couple ways of is how they allow it:
    a) second chances, such as saying "i'll give you another chance, just promise you won't do it again"
    b) bailing them out with the mentality that if one helps the bastard
    out, he or she will be so appreciative that she or he will stop being an bastard
    Of course, being the destructive/wrong/stupid bastard
    that this person is, she or he does not make any changes, but instead learns to rely on the fact that
    she or will get another chance or get bailed out by his/her loved one
    because this dwsb (destructive/wrong/stupid bastard) is not allowed to suffer the consequences of his/her actions, the friend/relative/lover/savior is 
    ENABLING
    to continue with the crappy behavior.  

August 6, 2004

  • so i finally caught
    up with some of your blogs.
    and the winner of most
    blogs???
    star
    and dija!


    so i've slowly been unpacking and the apartment feels more and more like home (funny, i typed "hope" instead of home... a Freudian Slip perhaps?) with each morning i take the creaky walk into the kitchen for breakfast and each night i climb into my squeaky boxspring-less bed.  it's cool being able to see more and more of the blue carpet in my bedroom. 

    i miss the internet.  my laptop:  injury 1- i think last month or maybe the month before, (not laying blame, so i'm not saying names) someone handed it back to me and a couple minutes later i noticed that my wireless network card was bent upwards.  injury 2- during the move.  on the last night at 3220 geary, i noticed that the button thing that pops out when you insert the network card was no longer there and nowhere.  been having wireless connectivity trouble since.  sucks.  i was supposed to trade my laptop to my dad for a new desktop, but i don't think he's gonna want it anymore.  boo.

    i can't wait to start americorps next month, though i'm sure sticking to a consistent schedule will be a difficult adjustment.  i'll be working 8-5 everyday; except every other friday i go to redwood city for a team meeting and to pick up paychecks.  at least one saturday a month will be spent on a volunteer project.  this job is 11 months, so i'll be working from september to august--yes, through the summer.  my first "real" job. 

    p.s.  now that i'm having trouble connecting to the transit trip planner, i'm realizing how dependent on it i really am.
     

July 29, 2004

  • goodbye, vegas.

    back in vallejo and feeling
    somewhat unfulfilled because a mishap with an unnamed hotel/casino--unnamed because if it goes into litigation, we don't want a defamation countersuit
    do we?
      could have used one more day to make up for hours and hours lost waiting and being shuffled from
    department to department.


    ballin' like i had the moneys.

    under the influence of three
    certain people, i bought the most
    expensive outfit i've ever bought, not to mention
    the most expensive blouse and pants i've ever tried on--
    ever. 
    hopefully they live up to their price
    tag in terms of wear-ability and lifespan.
     

    looking forward to home.

    back in san francisco i have
    research work, tutoring, and a lot
    of unpacking waiting
    for me.
      not to mention the loveliness of
    San Francisco fog.  i'm just not down
    with the sweltering.
     

July 18, 2004

  • the big
    step.

    tomorrow we MOVE.


    step 1.  reserve uhaul 4 weeks ahead (more if possible so you won't have to call more than 1 station or be limited in how long you can keep it) along with the aid of your family


    step 2.  lots of packing.  (start early not late; try to get rid of a lot of stuff by tossing/donating/giving away)


    step 3.  tell building managers that you won't have the stuff out by the day they want to do the inspection so you don't waste yours or their time.


    step 4.  leave the night before you move out to finish packing (if you're like us) and start cleaning.


    step 5.  move and clean.  move and clean.  move and clean.


    step 6.  cut your losses and get to spackling.  (why is it that a couple days before we move out the stupid 2000 flushes decides to stain the toilet seat?  stupid blue spot.  tried regular cleaner, tried bleach, tried goof-off.  nada.  stupid sink oxidation, must figure that one out.)


    step 7.   don't forget your occupational obligations.


     step 8.   final walk-through.  fix what you can fix.  give up on what you can't because once that deposit switched hands, you might as well have given that away.


    step 9.   unpack & organize what you can.  help joel move-in.


    step 10.   leave for las vegas on the night of your "official" last day in old apartment.



     


     


     


     



July 7, 2004

  • Yesss!
    i knew it all
    along.  move over
    jennifer and make some room
    why don't ya louie???








    You are going to marry Brad Pitt. He is always
    friendly to anybody he ever meets and he is
    very talented as an actor. He is also very
    sincere and friendly. He will respect you until
    the day he dies. Congrats!!

July 6, 2004

  • i had to click
    "next" twelve times
    on the "read your subscriptions" page to catch
    up on all of your blogs!  damn that
    was a lot of reading, which resulted in not much
    commenting. so
    sorry.


     


    so i'm back.  left on the 29th a little past midnight and after several baby and bathroom and one napping (at Auntie Lori's) stops, we reached the Anaheim Hilton a little past noon.  we slept, ate, slept, and louie and i walked around, past the Clarion, which some of you HHS folks might remember from Gradnite (::shudder::), and ate at a cafe a mafia-looking/speaking server.  the next day junior woke us up early and we spent the day at disneyland. 


    FAST PASS is AWESOME!  it took us 10-15 minutes to get on Indiana Jones and I hardly waited for everyone to get off of Splash Mountain (rode it once; I doubt I'll every ride it again).  We hit up Big Thunder twice, the Mattahorn, Snow White, Mr. Toad's Wild Ride, Pinocchio, Teacups, the carousel, Roger Rabbit, the younger ones rode Gadget's Go Coaster (which Minnie & Pluto rode several times in a row), Honey I Shrunk the Audience, a few of the stores, and we rode the train to get around after we started getting lazy/tired.  We also took the baby on It's A Small World and the Storyland thing. 


    The next day was Disney's California where we took the baby on the carousel a few times, I watched the others go on the California Screamin' (the Mickey Mouse coaster), a few of them road a scarier version of Drop Zone called the Maliboomer, we rode the Grizzly River run four times (that one is much better that Rip Roaring Rapids), Soarin' Over California, and the Tower of Terror--Louie will probably post the pic and you can see just how terrified I was.  I'm not sure why I rode it.  We shopped around a bit and also watched Muppet 3D--that was cute.  They have this ferris wheel there there and every other cabin sits closer to the center when it goes up and it slides out to the edge on the way down and back in on the way up.   we didn't see a lot of stuff because we got there later in the day and took turns watching the baby.


    It was fun.  I wanna go back!


    We stopped in Vallejo for a bit and Louie, Michelle, the baby, Raquel, and I followed the next morning to Lake Tahoe because we didn't feel like driving up that same night.  We stayed in my dad's coworker's timeshare which is part of the Ridge Resort, which has an elevation of 7,000-8,000.  The second day Louie, my dad, and my brother got oxygen treatment.  The next day I had my share and my mom wanted some, too.  That's thin air and asthma for ya (well, except for my mom who doesn't have asthma or allergies). 


    We caught the fireworks from safeway--there were trees in the way but they were so big we could still make them out.  Apparently these fireworks are the biggest on this side of the mississippi.  We drove up trying to find a spot away from the traffice but then tried to drive back down to see the finale, but we ended up making a wrong turn around to the other side of the hill.  even though we couldn't see them anymore, we listened to the radio station and could see the sky get lit up--it was crazy.  I wanna go back to really see them next year.  then we stayed up late playing texas hold'em and betted with hershey kisses.  that was fun.  then we had a buy in.  i lost.  i needed to learn not to be so quick to go all in.  we drove back to vallejo the next day and louie and i was supposed to go back to SF this morning, but I was so tired that we're just going back tonight.


    you all should go to his xanga site and congratulate him for driving over 800 miles back and forth to Anaheim and over 200 miles back and forth to South Lake Tahoe.

June 28, 2004

  • i'm goin' to dih-nee-land!


    in about eight hours my family, louie, and i will be leaving for the most magical place on earth. we'll be spending 3 nights in anaheim, stopping in vallejo for a bit, then driving up to tahoe for 3 more nights in a condo--talk about upscale camping, eh?




    the last time i was in the magical kingdom was during gradnite.  we had to dress up and my feet were killing me and we had to walk back to our hotel from the park so louie piggy-backed me part-way while i carried my shoes in my hand.  hey... the last time i was in disneyland, louie and i had been together for 1 year and 8 months.  now, we've been together for 5 years and 1 month and 3 days.  it'll be exciting to see all the changes that have happen--my whole undergraduate career has passed by.  and i'm excited to take a gander at disney's california.  if i'm feeling brave, i might just hop on that tower of terror.


     




    the last time i was in lake tahoe was last year.  we were in a cabin and were supposed to stay there for longer than we did but my mom wanted to go home because she hated it--it wasn't as bad as that cabin up there, but from the way she acted, you'd think it was.  it was fun though, with the phone ringing and hanging up and banging and branch breaking and everyone sleeping downstairs because we were freaked out.  i'm guessing that since we'll be not-in-a-cabin, my mom, hopefully, won't be so quick to beg my dad to go home.  here's looking forward to hotdogs and marshmallows cooking over an open fire.