August 10, 2004
-
when i was in ninth grade i became a solano county peer counselor. two terms that have stuck
with me from this training and certification:
1) There's an Elephant in the Living Room
2) Enabler
The 1st term refers to the problems in
dysfunctional relationships.
Having an elephant in your fricken living room is not a thing hard to miss. It's a fricken ELEPHANT! Everyone sees it. It's a pretty big problem. Except the people with the problem choose to squeeze around it, ignore, pretend it's not there. Why not just take the elephant
out of the living room?! because sometimes, people are so used
to the elephant being there, that maybe their scared of what will happen if it's gone--maybe something worse might take it's place? But c'mon! Can't you just imagine how big elephant poop is??
An enabler is someone who allows
another to continue with destructive/wrong/stupid behavior. Typically this is someone who is close to the destructive/wrong/stupid person, aka friend, relative, etc. These are a couple ways of is how they allow it:
a) second chances, such as saying "i'll give you another chance, just promise you won't do it again"
b) bailing them out with the mentality that if one helps the bastard
out, he or she will be so appreciative that she or he will stop being an bastard
Of course, being the destructive/wrong/stupid bastard
that this person is, she or he does not make any changes, but instead learns to rely on the fact that
she or will get another chance or get bailed out by his/her loved one
because this dwsb (destructive/wrong/stupid bastard) is not allowed to suffer the consequences of his/her actions, the friend/relative/lover/savior is
ENABLING
to continue with the crappy behavior.
Comments (7)
Hehe, pretty cool concepts. So kick the elephant out before it enables poop mode.
lol! mat are you at work?? 'cuz i am. except my tutoree (is it tutee?) didn't show up and we were supposed to meet @ 2 and i'm NOT calling his ass again to remind him. it's his bad. ha! no enabling this time!!!
Yeah, I'm at work, "working" away... lol
That sucks... well, sorta. So are you getting paid for doing nothing then? Is it like hourly, or does it have to actually be time spent tutoring?
i'm paid hourly, but i feel kinda bad about logging in hours that i spend doing nothing... but then again, i'm sitting there waiting...
that tea party place is nice.. its in lafayette and its good too.. maybe we can go sometime.. i'm craving for their stawberry and english breakfast tea..
hey i remember those terms. well i forgot the "elephant" thing but i remember the idea. ooh and it is tutee cuz when i was a tutor that's what we called the people we tutored. and yes toronto has been cool so far, it's pretty much like the u.s. with a few minor details (i.e their starbucks is tim norton's etc.) i'll call again when i get back.
maybe they just leave the elephant there so they dont have to clean the poop
Comments are closed.