May 27, 2004
-
so tomorrow--or technically today--i start my first of four/five mini-jobs as a college graduate. i have a meeting at 3pm tomorrow in the head basketball coach's office--hah! i've never been in the athletics department. ahahah. so, i'm gonna be tutoring 3 basketball players in intensive writing and my first job is to help them write a research paper. then, i get to use a book and have them do homework out of workbooks! it's like, whoa, i'm doing a job that relates to my major. it's actually intimidating, though. i was looking at the team roster and these guys are like 6'3, 6'4, one guy is 6'8 and the shortest is 5'11. and i'm like 5 feet tall. and then, there's giving usf campus tours (which i would consider my most expendable job out of all of them, but i still wouldn't mind doing it a few times a week; gotta keep my "people skills" up, right?). i'm also going to be a research assistant to two professors in the english department and when kim, the english/honors program assistant, goes on vacation (she's going to look at chapels in vegas for her wedding in 2006! eep! a vegas wedding! wahoo!) i'll be in charge of the office. that's kinda a lot to jugggle, but i guess it's comparable to taking 4/5 different classes. can you tell i'm having school withdrawal??? today louie's dad said the coolest thing to me: he asked me why i was working right away and then i explained that it wasn't a full-time job, and he was like good, you need to take a break--you've been working hard for 4 years. it's nice to hear that. but then my mom told me that my dad was like i need a fulltime job and i was like, i can't get a fulltime job right now, i'll start looking in august. and she was like why? and i was like because i'm going on vacationw with louie's family at the end of june and i can't start a job and ask for 3 different weeks off right when i begin (because my parents want me to stay at their house for a week at the beginning of june while they gallavant off to texas and then forced me to agree to go on vacation with them at the end of june, too). it kinda sucks because all i've been getting is pressure lately. you'd think that you'd have time to breath and enjoy graduating, but now, apparently you're supposed to get your life started and fit it to the lives of other people who want you start your life, but only in a way that fits with theirs (ahemparentsahem). first it's about going on vacation when i don't want to because i need to get settled into a job so i can afford to keep living in san francisco. then it's getting pressured to find a real job when i finally agree to go on vacation so people will stop whining and asking me when i will know whether or not i can go on vacation and therefore can't really get a fulltime job because why would anyone hire me over someone else who can work right away? i don't know. i also don't spend as much time at my parents house anymore and that's partly because when i do go there, i usually end up watching tv or going on the computer by myself because everyone else is doing their own thing or else there's so much drama going on that i remember why i don't want to move back to vallejo. the longer i'm at my parents house--like my first 3 summers of college--the more it reverted back to me being treated like i was in high school, with the "be home by 10" speeches. the other part is because there isn't really room for me. i was ousted from my bedroom the first month of my freshman year so when i do sleep there i'm either on the couch or on the floor or squeezing next to two of my sisters on a twin-size bed. i feel bad whenever my family talks about how i spend so much time at louie's house, but i just get more room there--physically and emotionally and psychology. even then though, sometimes i'd rather just stay in san francisco, even if i am alone here. i really enjoy the independence. i love my family and i enjoy visiting them, but i'm at the point in my life in which i don't want people to tell me what to do; i lived with all the catholic, asian family strictness for most of my life. you have suggestions? fine, suggest away, but being told what i should and should not do and being guilt tripped into making decisions i don't want to make urks the hell out of me. i'm 22 years old, i'm a college graduate, but sometimes i still get treated like i'm in junior high, and i hate it especially because it seems, in some cases, that my parents are giving my younger siblings more freedom than they're giving me--not just when i was there age, but now. i don't mind theirs or anyone else's help, i know i need it because i've never had a fulltime job or had to worry about insurance or any of that stuff that most dependent students don't have to worry about just yet. but let me do things because I choose to do them and not because you keep nagging me and poking me and jabbing me and holding me by the scruff of the neck in the direction you want me to go. end rant here.
Comments (3)
u know i was thinking. when will our parents ever grow up? or are we outgrowing our parents? and no don't move back home, you're much happier where you're at. i know i wouldn't move back home.
Whoa - your so busy!
In my family, there are 4 girls, 1 boy. My brother is the oldest. LOL!
I did the opposite. 4 boys, 1 girl. D'oh!
You can be the inspirational tutor that goes to their games and makes them incorporate english with their jumpshot. J IS FOR JUMPSHOT!
Comments are closed.